ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022 preview

The ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022 will officially begin on Friday in Tauranga when New Zealand play the West Indies. The tournament consists of a eight team round-robin involving Australia, England, New Zealand, Pakistan, West Indies, South Africa, India and Bangladesh.

Six different venues to be used for tournament

The 50-over matches will be played at six different venues in New Zealand, with the top four sides playing in the semi-finals. England are the current holders of the World Cup after beating India in the final in 2017 in England.

Hosts New Zealand have already beaten favourites Australia in a warm up match ahead of their opener against the West Indies later this week.

Covid-19 still remaining a threat to the competition

Covid-19 will unfortunately remain a constant threat over the tournament, with Australian all-rounder Ashleigh Gardener missing the opening two games after testing positive to Covid-19.

Due to the uncertain times that we live in at the moment, organisers will allow matches to be rescheduled in the event of a Covid-19 outbreak.

Should this scenario happen, there is a plan in place which would allow teams to field nine players and two substitutes.

Chance for Kiwis to shine

The current New Zealand women’s side have a chance to emulate the legends of the 2000 World Cup, after the Kiwis defeated the Aussies in a nail biting final held in New Zealand.

The White Ferns haven’t won a 50-over World Cup match since but will be looking to put that record straight on home soil.

Australia strong favourites

Australia will go into the tournament as strong favourites after winning the Women’s Twenty20 World Cup in home soil in March 2020.In the last major event staged before the global shutdown for the pandemic, Australia beat India in the final in front of more than 86,000 people in Melbourne.

The Southern Stars are currently the No.1 ranked side in the World and have lost just one ODI in the last 30 games. A defeat to their arch rivals New Zealand in a non-one day match.

Chance for Australia to make it a magnificent seven

Australia has a wonderful chance to make it seven tournament wins, with their most recent coming in 2013. The Australian ladies will open up their campaign against England in Hamilton on Sunday.

India are one of only two other teams to reach thew final, having done so in 2005 and 2017. Mithali Raj played in both games and has been a World Cup regular since and is back to lead the side.

Like England and Australia, India starts their campaign with a high-profile match against Pakistan, the lowest ranked side in the competition.

Heather Knight to lead from the front

England will once again look to captain Heather Knight to lead from the front. The squad of 15 includes a lot of experienced heads with a rookie in the shape of Emma Lamb. All rounder Lamb has been included in the squad despite having made just one ODI appearance.

So let battle commence, with a host of mouth-watering prospects ahead of us for the next few weeks, as the ladies take centre stage ahead of the men.

Leave a Reply